Agent 13 and the Mysterious “Kate”

While searching the internet for info from SDCC this past weekend, I saw a photo posted somewhere that was of a cast list for Captain America: The Winter Soldier. In that photo it had a listing of each of the actors and the character that he or she was playing in the film. Next to Emily Van Camp it had the character name “Kate” listed.

Up to this point I was under the impression that Van Camp would be playing the much anticipated Sharon Carter, also known as SHIELD Agent 13…but Kate? Who the hell is Kate? And what is she doing in my movie?!? Needless to say I was a little pissed. Then, after a short but passionate rant to my fiancé, I continued to read the article which detailed the panel. It explains that Van Kamp referred to her character as “Agent 13” several times, but never once used the name “Sharon” or “Kate”. Perhaps I should have read the entire thing before reacting. Oh well.

All I can do at this point is guess at what this means. I know in the comics when Steve first met Agent 13, he was unaware that she was in fact the niece of his wartime sweetheart, Peggy. He simply knew her as Agent 13, super-freaking-awesome badass SHIELD operative. Now I don’t know much about the details of the new movie, but maybe they are attempting a similar thing here. Could Sharon be using the name “Kate” to disguise her identity from the legendary Super-Soldier? Only time will tell.

Leave a Reply

