Cap’s New Duds

wpid-969356_607054545981655_535467838_n.jpg

Pictures of the new Cap costume displayed at SDCC have been circulating around the web since it was revealed, and I thought I’d throw my 2 cents in.

First I’ll start with something positive- I love the concept for this uniform! I was a big fan of Steve’s short-lived “Super Soldier” look, and this design mirrors that costume with an added helmet. The helmet itself looks great, and after seeing the mask/hood look from <em>The Avengers</em> I can definitely say I prefer the helmet.

You can’t really see from the picture here, but this is clearly Steve’s S.H.I.E.L.D. uniform given the fact that the S.H.I.E.L.D. insignia is on his shoulders (in place of where the stars were in the comic version). I think this is a great touch and really adds a cool dimension to Cap. I know he often is working with or for Nick Fury, but to me the outfit really makes it feel like he’s not just a brightly-colored superhero, he’s also a badass anti-terrorist secret agent. And I think the blue used in this design works perfectly as a mix between that “Super Soldier” look and the cinematic universe’s S.H.I.E.L.D. outfits, which I assume was the intent. Unfortunately that’s also where I think this design misses the mark.

Ok, so when we think of a S.H.I.E.L.D. agent we usually go to dark blue, white, and black, right? But when we think of Captain America, there’s another color that needs representation. The suit looks great, but where’s the red? Steve’s “Super Soldier” uniform had red stripes going down the sides of the legs. It wasn’t much, but it was enough to remind you that this dude fights for the good ol’ US of A. Here we have blue, and a different shade of blue, and black and white. Would it have been that hard to add at least some crimson?

Evidently it would, since Steve’s outfit wasn’t the only thing recolored for the new movie. As you can see in the picture above, his ever-present shield has been repainted in light blue along with the standard navy and white. This change actually bugs me more than the costume change and with good reason. Steve has had several new and different looks throughout the years, but one thing has remained constant- Cap’s shield! Yes, I know he rocked the red, white and black shield during his “The Captain” days, but that was a plot point for that story arc so it worked. Maybe this is too, and it might makes sense once I see the film, but it just doesn’t look right to me. This guy is so blue he needs Prozac.

Overall I love the idea and the direction for this new design. The helmet and Super Soldier look are a very welcomed addition to the movie universe in my opinion, I just wish Ms. Johannson wasn’t the only scarlet in the movie.

Leave a Reply

