Masters of the Universe Classics Unnamed One Revealed? Possible Spoiler

So I’m going to start this with a HUGE Spoiler Warning…

SPOILER ALERT! SPOILER ALERT! SPOLIER ALERT! SPOILER ALERT!

Bells and whistles and sirens and red, flashing lights!

DO NOT CONTINUE READING IF YOU WANT TO BE SURPRISED IN MARCH!

Okay, so that should just about cover it.

A picture popped up on 4-chan this weekend supposedly originating from a Chinese Website (with no link or name given) that appears to be the super-secret 2014 Club Eternia Subscription Exclusive UNNAMED ONE action figure for the Masters of the Universe Classics line. The photo quickly made its way to He-Man.org and then Mattycollector.com, hitting the forums with a lash of negative feedback that would sink an optimistic ocean liner. Before I continue to my own thooughts on the character, let me stress that this figure was IN NO WAY CONFIRMED by Mattel, and Scott “Toy Guru” Neitlich would neither confirm nor deny its validity, he would only say this:

“Spoiler pictures, speculation, customs and everything, we are going to wait until after he ships to make any comments. Some fans want to be surprised so mum is the word until after March.”

Pretty standard answer from Mattel’s MOTU Brand Manager.

I will say that based on what I know of UNO (as the Unnamed One will  be called from this point onward) this figure seems legit. What we know about the figure based on official word from Toy Guru and the Four Horsemen:

  • Almost 100% new tooling with only reused arms
  • 4 Accessories- alternate head, energy blast, staff and another to be revealed
  • Includes mini-comic pack-in
  • Will have a 200X feel to the design
  • Is a brand new character- not a variant or repaint

What we know about the CHARACTER based on what has been revealed in the old mini-comics, the new mini-comics, and what TG has revealed:

  • Original evil in Eternia
  • From the oldest race in the universe
  • Attempted to steal the Power of the Universe (forcing the Trollan Overlords to put it into hiding)
  • Created the Snake Men through Genetic Manipulation
  • Would be a major threat in the “Son of He-Man” storyline

So again, armed with that knowledge I’m inclined to believe this figure is legit. So with that said feel free to jump on past yet another spoiler warning and read my thoughts on this figure, or just scroll down to the bottom of the post to see the image.

SPOILER ALERT! SPOILER ALERT! SPOLIER ALERT! SPOILER ALERT!

Okay, so here are my thoughts on this guy. I love this toy. I really do hope it turns out to be legit simply so I can get my hands on this thing. I know it isn’t what a lot of people were expecting, but honestly a lot of the theories I read were things I’d hate (Snake Mountain Man? Really?) so I’m psyched that we get something that isn’t a ridiculously, overly demonic monster.

Instead we get an evil Trollan. Makes sense since he is supposed to be the original evil of the universe and (according to Classics mythos) the Trollans are the most ancient race in existence. I think the colors really pop and the purple and blue harkens right back to Ol’ Bonehead. A good choice in my opinion, as color has always played a big part in toy collecting. Another thing I love about the colors are that they are in line with what we’ve seen from Gorpo, the original concept for Orko turned He-Man.org mascot. Many speculated months ago that Gorpo was UNO, but Eric from the Four Horsemen shot that down stating that this character wasn’t Gorpo…though until I read the bio I have to tend to believe he was leading us on the wrong path.

I’ve read people complaining that UNO should have been an enormous monster, but I don’t know that I agree. Knowing that (storywise) UNO is a scientist who genetically engineers an army of Snake Super-soldiers, it might make more sense that he’ small in stature. Well, despite this, I can safely say that based on the picture the character looks bigger than Orko, and since he represents the standard Trollan height, UNO still does tower over him, and from a Trollan standpoint he might look really menacing. Many were stating that they can’t see Skeletor or Hordak answering  to, as he’s been called on the forums, “Drag Queen Orko”, and neither can I, but I don’t remember seeing anything state that UNO was the grand mac-daddy behind everything evil in the universe. He was the first evil, he was the catalyst for evil, but it was never said that he was the one calling all the shots. At least not that I remember.

Since he’s a Trollan, I would assume that his 4th and final accessory would be a much-needed flight stand similar to what Orko got (and what Kowl should have gotten), but we can clearly see that he comes with a golden staff (with a snake wrapped around it) and a GIGANTIC green energy blast that he can’t possibly hold. Some have speculated that this might actually be his flight stand, so that would make more sense given the size of it. At the bottom of the package, under the Son of He-Man sticker, we can see the blue ears poking up from the second head. Possibly an unmasked face? Again, people are hoping for a face that is similar to that of Snake Mountain’s hideous ALF-looking carving. Personally I don’t care since I plan on displaying him with his hood and scarf…well, provided this turns out to be real.

All together I like this toy, and I’ll gladly display him floating above my Snake Men to shout out commands. I really want to read his bio and see just what his deal is- I’ve got my fingers crossed that he doesn’t turn out to be the atrocity that was DC’s “Dark Orko” garbage. I’ll take him as a brand new character, and a worthy addition to the MOTUC line-up. Now, with all that having been said:

SPOILER ALERT! SPOILER ALERT! SPOLIER ALERT! SPOILER ALERT!

V

V

V

6431007268_image

5 responses »

  1. I was searching ebay a while back before I encountered your blog and I have seen many pics which would indicate that the figure is legit. I have to say that I have mixed feelings for the figure and I am thankful that I’m not one of the people who got a sub. I’m not saying that the figure doesn’t look cool but trying to get us to see him as the misterious creator and true leader of the Snake Men is just extremly hard to swallow. How can you take one species that sadly many fans find to be the lamest in MOTU and make him the ruler of one of the coolest factions? An evil Trollan with great powers I can dig and as I said he looks cool but I can never ever picture King Hisss or Rattlor taking orders from this guy! It’s like if you were watching Independance Day and when you finally got to see inside the mother ship you would find that it was E.T. who had planned the whole invasion! Or that the main computer from Skynet was actually Johnny 5 and that he was the creator of the Terminators! That is just wrong in my book. He may look cool but given the story he was given I think many fans are going to feel that they were sucker punched by Matty while Orko is rolling on the floor laughing his head off!

    • I get where you’re coming from, but truth be told I’ve never really liked the Snake Men as a faction. King Hiss and Rattlor were cool enough, but the other 3 (Snake Face, Sssqueeze, and Tung Lashor) never really appealed to me. I guess to that end I find it sort of funny that they get kicked around by a guy with n visible legs, lol.

      • Ha Ha I see your point but the trouble is that he not only kicked around the Snake Men but he’s supposed to be the very first ultimate evil! Snake Men aside, do you really see a Trollan being more powerful than even Horde Prime? Given his profile guys like Skeletor, Hordak or even He-Man are nothing to him cause he’s on the diety level and not just a simple baddie. Trollans ar ok but I don’t see them as the center of the MOTU mythos as Matty has put them. I swallowed the fact that they created the sword of He but come on! Ultimate Beings of power? Doesn’t that then make Orko an even more loser since he needed a medalion on eternia while his uncle Montork never needed anything like that? And when have we seen a Trollan that looked like he could whip Skeletors butt? Trollans are only good to be used in horrendous genetic experiments in the hands of Modulok!

      • Yeah, I will admit that having the Trollans as the greatest power in the universe was sort of a weak concept, but since that’s the pill we’ve been asked to swallow, I feel UNO fits.

        As far as him being “the grand mac-daddy evil” in the universe, well, maybe it’s just a matter of the myth outgrowing the man? Look at Arthurian legends or tales from Feudal Japan- things are often romanticized to make these figures larger than life. Assuming that this little spud is the first evil the universe had ever seen, one would imagine that his reputation would grow far beyond what he was actually capable of. Hell, we have a movie about Abraham Lincoln fighting vampires…

        Also keep in mind that Orko was considered an extremely powerful wizard back on Trolla, but the physical laws of Eternia altered his ability to cast spells resulting in him being a joke. What if UNO found a way around that little technicality? Wouldn’t it stand to reason that he would be pretty hardcore?

        Oh, and to answer your question, Skeletor bows to no one…at least not for long. All hail the rightful King of Eternia!

  2. I see what you mean even though I still would send Horde death squads to Trolla. About UNO, is there anywhere we can find info about him? I have seen his name pop up ever since the Unnamed One was anounced but I have also read in various articles that UNO and the Unnamed One are in fact different beings and not the same guy. Oh and about Abraham Lincoln fighting vampires, that’s nothing, don’t forget he had already rocked the world with Bill and Tedd! Ha Ha Limcoln rules!

Leave a Reply

