Captain America: The Winter Soldier First Thoughts

1385498_657400780957499_1058786110_n

I just got out of The Winter Soldier, and I have to say that every review you’ve seen for this movie, all of the ones that talk about how this is “the greatest Marvel movie to date”, they are all 100% accurate! This movie was ASTOUNDING! From the very first scene to the very last scene (including both after credits scenes) this movie was exactly what I was expecting it to be. I’m not going to go into too much detail, I don’t want to fill this post with spoilers, but I there are some things I wanted to point out.

Chris Evans really shines in this movie. I know a lot of people don’t think Steve Rogers stands up to the charisma or entertainment value of Chris Hemsworth or Robert Downy Jr.’s characters in the Marvel movies, but I think this outing really gave some more dimension to Steve and Chris Evans did a fantastic job playing the honest and moral guy in a world of lies and traitors. He really carried this movie well.

And speaking of being used well, Scarlett Johansson’s Black Widow really came out as a serious player in this movie. The writers did a great job expanding her character and giving her more to do, more to say, and a more interesting part in he overall story. She felt like someone that I would like to see more of, which I can honestly say is not an idea I was too keen on in the previous films.

To round the group out, Anthony Mackie was amazing as Sam “The Falcon” Wilson. Falcon has always been one of my favorite super heroes, so maybe I’m not as objective in this matter as I could be, but I feel like this movie did the character justice.

For fans of Ed Brubaker’s Winter Soldier story from the comics, be prepared for a lot of changes. The movie reads more like a brand new story rather than an adaptation, with the only real similarity being the titular character. But that doesn’t make it any less entertaining. The pacing is great and the story has plenty of twists, turns, and easter eggs to keep everyone engaged. And the action…wow! Aside from a few “shaky camera” issues in the beginning, the action scenes are beautiful. Everything Cap does with that shield makes me want to go out into my yard and throw a Frisbee at things.

If I had one major gripe about the movie its that the soundtrack was just sorta “meh”. It isn’t terrible, mind you, but compared to the outstanding soundtrack from The First Avenger I just felt this one left something to be desired.

Overall I loved this movie. I strongly recommend it to anyone who is a fan of Marvel movies, Captain America, action movies, or really just having a damn good time. I only saw it in 2-D, but I plan on seeing it again tomorrow (my wife has already told me we’re going back first thing in the morning!) and again later in the week with a friend, so I’m sure one of those times will be in 3-D, so I’ll let you guys know how that is.

Leave a Reply

