Funko Captain America: Civil War Mystery Minis

Man, I completely get the appeal of blind box toys. There’s a thrill to the mystery that you can’t get with a normal action figure. It’s like gambling in a way. Unfortunately, like with gambling, I can’t afford the rush it brings, so I look for ways to cheat. Uh, at blind boxes. Not gambling. I don’t need black suited goons breaking my legs or anything.

I knew right away when Funko announced their Captain America: Civil War Mystery Minis that I wanted them, but the thing is, like I said, I don’t have the money to chance getting doubles and having to buy extra boxes just to get a complete set. So I decided I would just buy an entire case of them- 12 figures per case, 1/12 chance of each one,- that would guarantee I’d get the full set.

IMG_0793

And, of course, it did, but I can’t help feel like I cheated myself out of the thrill of the hunt on this. It’s not like I regret my decision here, mind you- my wallet has a few extra bucks in it now. Good news, well, I guess that depends on how I look at it, is that Walgreens will reportedly get 3 exclusive figures, so I guess if I want, I can chase after variants of Black Panther, Crossbones, and Vision.

IMG_0884

I tried to do something fun and act like I was going to be do an unboxing video or something, but in the end I decided just to rip ’em all open and take pictures. They are so freakin’ adorable that I just couldn’t help myself. Enjoy the pics!

These little guys each stand around 2.5″ tall, the tallest being Vision due to his “levitating” which is actually one of the coolest things-he just rests on semi-transparent cape and his adorable little legs just dangle. I’m surprised to say that I actually think he’s my favorite one of the bunch, followed by either Falcon or Crossbones.

In the end, I’m glad I decided to drop the cash and grab them all at the same time. Not only did I get a complete set with no hassle, but I also get the cool countertop display that looks great on a shelf. I can’t wait to see who is included with the Marvel Collector Club box next month!

IMG_0885

Leave a Reply

